Schedule of the Indian Constitution

भारतीय संविधान की अनुसूची

Indian Constitution had originally eight schedules. It now increased to twelve through various constitutional amendments. Ninth Schedule added in the Constitution by first Amendment Act 1951. Only 14 languages were available ​​in the 8th Schedule of the fundamental constitution. Four languages – Maithili, Santhali, Bodo, and Dogri, were added to this schedule by 92nd constitutional amendment act (2003).

  • The 10th schedule was added by 52nd Constitutional Amendment Act (1985).
  • 73rd Constitutional Amendment Act (1993) added the 11th
  • 74th Constitutional Amendment Act (1993) added the 12th schedule.


The schedules of Indian Constitution are as follows:

  1. First Schedule – Contains the list of the states and Union Territories.
  2. Second Schedule – Contains the provisions, salaries, allowances and pensions of the President, Governors, Judges of Supreme court and high court, etc.
  3. Third Schedule – Contains the forms of oaths of office bearing.
  4. Fourth Schedule – Contains the details of the allocation of the seats for states and union territories in the council of states.
  5. Fifth Schedule – Contains provisions of administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
  6. Sixth Schedule – Contains provision of administration and control of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram.
  7. The seventh Schedule – Contains the Union List, State List and the Concurrent List.
  8. Eighth Schedule – Contains recognized 22 languages ​​of India.
  9. Ninth Schedule – Contains regulations and validations of land reform and other acts.
  10. The tenth Schedule – Contains the provisions relating to defections.
  11. The eleventh Schedule – Contains the provisions of Panchayati Raj Act.

12. Twelfth Schedule – Contains the provisions of Municipal Act.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!