George Saunders wins the Man Booker Prize

George Saunders wins the Man Booker Prize

The prominent literary award for the English Language, the Man Booker Prize-2017 was bestowed upon George Saunders of the United States of America for his novel, ‘Lincoln in the Bardo’ on 17th October 2017. It is his first full-length novel and was released in February 2017. It is acclaimed for its originality and innovative narrative style. It revolves around the death of Abraham Lincoln’s 11 years old son, Willie and the rumor that Lincoln used to visit his burial place every night to cradle his body. The novel is narrated through the many ghosts which haunted the burial grounds.

Facts about George Saunders:

  • He is 58 and is known for his varied writings in short story format, children’s illustrated books, essays and journalistic articles.
  • He is the second American to win the ‘Man Booker’ after Paul Beatty who won last year for his novel ‘The Sellout.’
  • Saunders was awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship and MacArthur Fellowship in 2006 and the Academy Award from American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2009.

Highlights of Man Booker Prize:

  • It is an annual award for the best original English novel published in the United Kingdom. The awardee receives worldwide acclaim, and the book sales shoot up assuredly.
  • This is a high profile award which was instituted in 1969 as the Booker-McConnell Prize, in the United Kingdom. The eligibility of the awardees was that they should belong to the Commonwealth countries (former colonies of England).
  • Since 2002, the award has been administered by the Booker Prize Foundation. The Man Group sponsored it, and since then the award is titled ‘Man Booker ‘
  • Since 2014, the scope of the award has been widened to include about any English novel, published in the UK.
  • Three authors from India have been awarded the Man Booker-
  1. Arundhati Roy for God of Small Things in 1997
  2. Kiran Desai for Inheritance of Loss in 2006
  3. Aravind Adiga for the White Tiger in 2008
  • The winner receives a cash prize of £50,000 while all the six contenders receive a prize of £2,500 and a designer hardbound copy of their selected work.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!