India won Border-Gavaskar Trophy


India on 28 March 2017 achieved a remarkable victory over Australia in the fourth Test by chasing down the 106-run target inside the first session. India’s K L Rahul scored an unbeaten half-century, while Ajinkya Rahane made an aggressive 37 runs. With the fourth test win, India won the series 2-1 and reclaimed the Border-Gavaskar Trophy from Australia.

The Border–Gavaskar Trophy is test cricket series Test, played between India and Australia. It is named after Australia’s Allan Border and India’s Sunil Gavaskar. The first Border–Gavaskar Trophy series was played in India the 1996 – 97 season and was won by the host 1–0.


Highlights of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

  • The Australian cricket team arrived in India in February 2017.
  • DRS was used for the first time in the Border–Gavaskar Trophy in this series; however, Hot Spot was not used.
  • With the fourth test win, India reclaimed the trophy by winning the series 2-1.
  • Ravindra Jadeja of India was declared the Man of the Series and eventually awarded the Man of the Match for the 4th match as well.
  • India’s Ajinkya Rahane captained India for the first time in Tests by captaining in the 4th
  • India’s Kuldeep Yadav made his test debut in the 4th

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!