H.D. Kumaraswamy became the chief minister of Karnataka

H.D. Kumaraswamy became the chief minister of Karnataka

H.D. Kumaraswamy became the chief minister of Karnataka

Date : 17 May 2018

Karnataka Assembly Elections results 2018

The assembly polls in Karnataka were held on 12 May 2018. 224 constituencies were polled overall. Elections were however postponed in two. The Indian National Congress was the incumbent, with a total of 122 seats in house in the last elections. The election results were declared on May 15, 2018 resulting in a hung house.

Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) emerged as the single largest party, winning 104 seats. In the last elections, they had won only 40 seats. Congress was the second largest party, winning 78 seats.

The HD Kumaraswamy led Janata Dal(Secular) won 40 seats.

The HD Kumaraswamy led Janata Dal(Secular) won 40 seats. One seat went to the Bahujan Samaj Party(BSP), one to Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party(KPJP). A third was won by an independent candidate. A post-poll alliance was formed between the Congress party and JDS, supported by the BSP and independent candidate. The alliance claims a total of 116 members in the alliance, more than the halfway mark of 113.

Controversy Over Appointment of Chief Minister

The Karnataka governor Vajubhai Vala invited BS Yeddyurappa, the BJP CM candidate, to form government. This caused controversy as the Congress-JDS alliance claimed to have a clear majority. The Congress party filed an emergency petition with the Supreme Court. The petition sought a stay on the swearing in of Yeddyurappa as CM. However, the Supreme Court, in a midnight session on 17 May, refused to intervene.

BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa took oath as the 23rd chief minister of Karnataka after a long controversial battle.

As a result, Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the 23rd Karnataka CM on the morning of 17th May. He was also given 15 days to prove a majority in the house.

Fallout of SC decision on Chief Minister

The Supreme Court decision to invite the single largest party to form government first has  caused problems. The governors’ in Goa and Bihar invited post-poll alliances that had majority support last year.

In both instances, the governments formed belonged to BJP led alliances. Opposition leaders are planning to register protest with the governor.

Quick Facts about Election of Karanataka

  • Elections in the Jayanagar and Rajarajeshwari Nagar were were cancelled.
  • It was due to the death of BJP MLA Vijaya Kumar and an alleged voter fraud respectively.

Click here to read about the Chief Minister of Puducherry

  • Voter turnout was 72.13 percent.
  • It was the highest ever turnout recorded in the Karnataka elections, surpassing a 1978 record.



Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!