Yogi Adityanath sworn in as Chief Minister of UP

Yogi Adityanath sworn in as Chief Minister of UP

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader, Yogi Adityanath sworn in as the 21st Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh on 19 March 2017. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) formed its first government in Uttar Pradesh in nearly 15 years.

Highlights related to BJP government in UP:

  • Governor Ram Naik administered the oath taken by Adityanath as the 21st Chief minister at a ceremony held in Lucknow’s Kanshiram Smriti Upvan.
  • Dinesh Sharma Keshav and Prasad Maurya were also sworn in as deputy chief ministers to Adityanath.
  • The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, central ministers Rajnath Singh, M. Venkataiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Uma Bharti and veteran leader L.K. Advani. Outgoing chief minister Akhilesh Yadav and Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav were also present along with chief ministers of Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Maharashtra.
  • In the recent assembly elections, BJP also formed the government in Uttarakhand, Goa, and Manipur. BJP won 312 seats in the 403- seat assembly in Uttar Pradesh.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!