Manohar Parrikar formed the BJP government in Goa

Manohar Parrikar formed the BJP government in Goa

Manohar Parrikar was appointed the chief minister of Goa on 12 March 2017 by the state’s Governor Mridula Sinha. Parrikar resigned from the post of Defence Minister to join in as the chief minister of Goa. Gathering support from independent candidates and small parties, BJP claims to have a support of 22 MLAs in Goa.

Highlights of BJP government in Goa:

  • The Maharashtra Gomantak Party (MGP), agreed to extend support to the BJP as Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar was brought back to the state as Chief Minister.
  • Out of the 40 seats, Congress won 17, falling short of 21. The BJP won 13.
  • Many regional parties extended their support to the BJP in Goa on the condition of Parrikar led the government.
  • Goa Forward Party president Prabhakar Trimble resigned from the party after GTP extended support to BJP.
  • Goa forward got three cabinet berths, MGP got two cabinet berths, Govind Gaude and Rohan Khaunte got selected as ministers.
  • The speaker and the deputy speaker are chosen from the BJP.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!